• Post category:News
  • Post comments:0 Comments
  • Post author:
  • Post published:20/11/2021
  • Post last modified:20/11/2021

NewsMusic News100 gecs return with new single ‘mememe’

The hyperpop duo’s second studio album is slated to arrive early next year

By Alex Gallagher

100 gecs
100 gecs. CREDIT: 100 gecs/Instagram

100 gecs have returned with new single ‘mememe’. It’s the first to be lifted from their forthcoming second studio album ‘10000 gecs’, which is set to arrive early next year.

  • READ MORE: 100 Gecs: “People think we’ve staked our entire career on the fact that we can be ironic”

The duo’s latest builds on the off-kilter glitchcore they explored on 2019’s ‘1000 gecs’, with ‘stupid horse’-esque staccatoed guitar upstrokes and abrasive, blown out choruses.

‘Mememe’ arrives alongside a kaleidoscopic video that sees the band’s Dylan Brady and Laura Les adorned in wizard cloaks, dancing around in a park. Watch that below:

Les and Brady teased ‘10000 gecs’ on social media back in September, and embarked on a North American tour last month. The duo recently announced a UK and European tour for 2022, set to kick off in January.

Since releasing ‘1000 gecs’ in 2019, the duo have remained solidly busy. In July of last year they released ‘1000 gecs & the Tree of Clues’, a collection of ‘1000 gecs’ remixes that featured contributions from the likes of Charli XCX, Rico Nasty, Fall Out Boy and more.

2020 also saw the duo team up with 3OH!3 for the latter’s comeback single ‘Lonely Machines’, produce two songs on Rico Nasty’s debut album ‘Nightmare Vacation’ and release a Christmas song, ‘sympathy 4 the grinch’.

This year, the duo remixed Linkin Park’s ‘One Step Closer’, while Brady has collaborated with Skrillex and Rebecca Black.

  • Related Topics
  • 100 Gecs
  • Pop

Leave a Reply