• Post category:News
  • Post comments:0 Comments
  • Post author:
  • Post published:29/08/2021
  • Post last modified:29/08/2021

NewsMusic NewsBilal Indrajaya releases sweeping new single ‘Niscaya’

Co-written with members of Maliq & D’Essentials and Ran

By Daniel Peters

Bilal Indrajaya releases sweeping new single ‘Niscaya’
Credit: Wicaksono. S.

Indonesian singer-songwriter Bilal Indrajaya has released a sweeping new single, ‘Niscaya’.

The song officially arrived on streaming platforms on Wednesday (August 25) as part of a compilation by Pop Hari Ini titled ‘Irama Kotak Suara Terbaik Vol. 1’.

  • READ MORE: Romantic Echoes: “If you simply focus on your truth, people will love what you make”

The track itself features ornate strings, arranged by Alvin Witarsa, dressing up a hefty pop-rock arrangement backing Bilal’s soulful vocals. A cavalcade of instrumentation soon follows: funky bass guitar, a dose of psychedelic sitar, and even a guitar solo to elevate the sonics.

Listen to ‘Niscaya’ below.

‘Niscaya’ is a collaboration with songwriting team Laleilmanino, which comprises Arya Adhitya Ramadhya and Ilman Ibrahim Isa from neo-soul band Maliq & D’Essentials, along with Anindyo “Nino” Baskoro from pop-rock band RAN.

As part of the Pop Hari Ini project, artists were commissioned to work with an array of producers and labels to write and record original songs.

‘Niscaya’ marks Bilal’s first solo material since his 2019 EP, ‘Purnama’. Yesterday (August 26), the musician launched a limited line of merchandise to support the release.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Bilal Ahmad (@bilalindrajaya)

Bilal Indrajaya made his debut in 2018 with the single ‘Biar’. Since then, he’s released standalone single ‘Ruang Kecil’, the EP ‘Purnama’, and the 2020 collaborative single ‘Yang Tercinta’, recorded with Romantic Echoes and Noh Salleh.

Earlier this year, Bilal also contributed vocals to indie rock band Reality Club’s single, ‘I Wish I Was Your Joke’.

  • Related Topics
  • Asia

Leave a Reply